Recalling Presets Deletes Saved Recordings

Is there a way to prevent recordings in the channel from being deleted when recalling a Preset? If I do a recording to a Channel A and then apply a Preset which only has Channel B & C. All the recordings done in Channel A are deleted. Is that correct or do they get moved somewhere else on the device?

Hello Cloudcast, thanks for reaching out for support on our forums, I’d be happy to help answer your question! So, generally speaking when you apply a Preset that has different channels, the recordings for the nonexistent channels still exist on the storage they’re just inaccessible.

You could think of each channel as being a different room on the Pearl where recordings are being kept. When you apply the preset that adds Channels 2 and 3 and removes Channel 1 you haven’t gotten rid of that room so to speak, just the door that leads to it. The only way to get that door back would be to apply a preset where Channel 1 exists, or to delete all existing channels and then create Channel 1.

It’s important to note that deleting a channel will absolutely delete all the recordings in that channel. You should see a prompt appear when you try to delete a channel, warning you that all recordings will also be deleted.

I hope that this helps, please let us know if you have any other questions! You can also reach us via email at support@epiphan.com. I hope you have a great rest of your day!

Hi,

Thank you for the response. When creating Channel 1 again I’m assuming the name has to match the old channel for the recordings to appear again?

Regards,
Terry

Terry,
You’re welcome! The Channel name doesn’t need to match, what needs to match is the Channel ID. This is the number next to the channel and is assigned to it when it is created. These IDs cannot be changed and always increment up from the highest channel that currently exists.

So if you had Channels 1, 2, and 3 and you deleted Channel 1 then the next Channel you created would be Channel 4. The only way to recreate Channel 1 in this situation would be to delete all existing channels and start from nothing.

I hope this helps! Please let me know if you have any other questions!