Low Cost Live Production System via Webcaster

I’ve been playing with the Webcaster X2 for about a week and I’m thrilled with it. My goal was to build a low cost live production system which would support two cameras and multiple audio sources. Here’s a diagram of my system, which only leaves me wanting in one area (and not Epiphan’s issue)… more bandwidth… something we all need more of.

Everything works fine, including the BETA webcam features, except for a few of the keyboard commands. In addition, it can be operated by one person not on camera. I’m a newbie with this and welcome all suggestions or ideas. I would love to be able to also have a computer display that could be switched into the stream, but that third video source would significantly increase my cost and likely would require a real switcher such as the little Roland for about $1K. So far, I only have about $700 invested counting everything except the main Sony A6000 Camera.

3 Likes

Glad to hear things are working out for you.
One suggestion for a ‘cheap’ switcher to try and expand the HDMI options would be this one.
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1162535-REG/shinybow_sb_3691_2x1_hdmi_pip.html

I see on image of @Andy_Fertal & i don’t know why add selector switch in this?

I suggested the small switcher as Andy was asking about mixing in an additional HDMI source from a computer.
This would require an external switcher in front of the Webcaster X2.

2 Likes

Treva
4m
Hi
I am new and i would like to start live streaming during church services, therefore i need assistance in coming up with a checklist for me to go live.

Information i require include:

The type of camera :camera_flash:
Cables involved
The type of laptop that works properly with the webcaster
External monitor needed
Regards
Trevor Mutsipa

It is difficult to give a detailed list, as there are a lot of possible options that would best suit your particular environment.
In general you would be looking for: